Stafford Motor Speedway – Comeau Continues Momentum

stafford_speedway_logoSource: Scott Running / http://www.staffordspeedway.com

After a stellar rookie season that saw David Comeau challenge for the DARE Stock championship and collect R.A.D. Automachine Rookie of the Year honors, the Palmer, MA native has picked up in 2014 right where he left off in 2013.

Comeau has already matched his win total from last season with a victory in the May 2 feature and his three top-five finishes in the first three races has him currently tied with Frank L’Etoile, Jr. – another second-year driver – in for the DARE Stock points lead. Comeau is quick to credit his experience from 2013 as the catalyst for his fast start.

“The car has been amazing but mostly I think last year I was a rookie and I tried to stay out of everyone’s way, learn, listen to what everybody told me, and tried to not ruffle any feathers,” said Comeau.

“Last year I didn’t know anybody or anything. This year I’m using all that and I can come out of the box with some experience and put to use what I learned last year.”

After being a contender for much of his rookie campaign, Comeau knows what it takes to be among the championship contenders. With the combination of experience and already having a win under his belt in 2014, Comeau is confident that he can once again be a championship contender this season.

“I think we can keep it up for the rest of the year although I have one challenge that I didn’t have last year,” said Comeau. “Now that we’ve won a race, I won’t be starting higher than 10th for the rest of the season.

Picture - Dave Burnham Autosport

Picture – Dave Burnham Autosport

“The car is still handing really well and I have more experience and car control when I’m side by side with another car. It took me until around ¾ of the season last year before I got comfortable racing side by side with other cars. I’m going to go out and race and not try to push any issues. I’d like to think we’re a strong contender for the championship.”

Comeau has enjoyed three strong results with a win, a second, and a fifth place finish thusfar in 2014. The amazing thing about those finishes is that Comeau hasn’t touched a nut or bolt on his #8 Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance Chevrolet since the very first practice session in mid-April.

“Winning a race this season has been a big confidence builder for me,” said Comeau. “We’re going with the same exact everything on the car that we ran last year. Barry Fluckiger puts the chassis setup in the car and I brought the car to him before the open practice in April. We didn’t bang the car up at all in 2013 so Barry’s setup was still in the car and all he had to do was tweak on it a little.

“Since I unloaded the car for that open practice, I haven’t changed anything on the car, not even a pound of air pressure. The entire body on the car is still from 2013. I had one fender that was kind of crinkled but I pounded it out on my garage floor and resprayed it. A lot of the guys got a kick out of that fact since cars get so beat up during a season.

“Donny Wood still does the motor and Don Bessette does my transmission and rear end. The only thing that has changed on the car is the tires, which I’ve noticed does give us better grip on the track.”

In addition to racing for wins and a championship, Comeau is also racing to help raise awareness of Tuberous Sclerosis Complex. Tuberous Sclerosis is a condition that causes tumors to grow in various organs, primarily, the brian, heart, and kidneys. Comeau’s stepdaughter, Hannah, is affected by Tuberous Sclerosis and Comeau has set up a donation page where fans can make donations to the Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance and he also has a Facebook page to help fans keep track of Hannah’s journey with Tuberous Sclerosis.

“I have the Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance on the hood of the car again for my stepdaughter Hannah and we’ve picked up two additional sponsors this year,” said Comeau. “I’m collecting donations through my team website for Tuberous Sclerosis. The website tells what Tuberous Sclerosis is all about and there is a donation link there as well. We also have US Environmental, which I use a lot for my job and I’ve been working with them for over 10 years, and my Mom Bev Comeau with CapeCodMA.com.”

Fans can find Comeau’s Tuberous Sclerosis page by visiting the DARE Stock teams section of http://www.staffordspeedway.com and clicking on the Team Website link found in Comeau’s team listing.

Picture - Dave Burnham Autosport

Picture – Dave Burnham Autosport

Connect with Dave Burnham Autosport on Facebook
Follow Dave Burnham Autosport on Twitter

Leave a comment